Search This Blog

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Sweet Pickles Series Books

There are forty of them. Set in the fictional town of Sweet Pickles, these books are about animals with different human behaviors and personalities. Twenty six animals in all, one for each letter of the alphabet and each gets into a different "pickle" based on their individual unique character traits.

Written by Ruth Lerner Perle, Richard Hefter and Jacquelyn Reinach and published between 1977 and the mid 1990s, Sweet Pickle books are brightly and colorfully illustrated with wonderfully elaborate endpapers featuring all of the characters.

Several of these stories were read by Captain Kangeroo during the show's hay day. Each story finds the central character getting into and out of lots of trouble while learning an important lesson along the way.

Collect them all. They're great fun!

1 comment:

  1. congrats on your new blog. i always loved these books as a kid. be sure to add your etsy mini to the blog! ; )